West Indies white-ball captain Kieron Pollard back for series against England and Ireland | Cricket News

Kieron Pollard returned from injury to face Ireland in a one-day and single T20 and five T20 streak against England in late January: Sheldon Cottrell, Roston Chase and Kyle Mayers also return after Covid-19 absences

Last updated: 31/12/21 18:33

Kieron Pollard is back after missing the Pakistan tour with injury

Kieron Pollard will return to captain the West Indies in their next round of white balls against England and Ireland.

Pollard missed the recent tour in Pakistan, which was ultimately interrupted due to Covid-19 cases in the West Indies camp, due to a hamstring injury sustained during the T20 World Cup.

The Windies will face Ireland in three one-day international matches in Jamaica from January 8 before a single T20 international on January 16, and then England will arrive for five T20 matches in Barbados from January 22-30.

Live Big Bash League

January 1, 2022, 8:00 am


Handyman Fabian Allen will only be available for the English series despite recovering from an ankle injury as he has now tested positive for Covid-19 and will have to isolate himself.

Fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell and all-rounders Roston Chase and Kyle Mayers, who missed the Pakistan tour due to Covid-19, were also included in the squads to face Ireland and England.

“We tried to maintain the overall composition of the Pakistan tour teams before Christmas, with the return of the captain and some senior players,” said West Indies manager Phil Simmons.

Fabian Allen will come out of isolation in time to face England

Fabian Allen will come out of isolation in time to face England

“COVID-19 also played a role in the final composition of the squad. The challenges in the next two (of) months are leading the young players of both teams not only to improve their skills, but to maintain the attitude and the wish we saw in Pakistan “.

ODI team to face Ireland: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas.

T20 squads to face Ireland and England: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Fabian Allen (England only), Darren Bravo (England only), Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Shai Hope, Akel Hosein, Jason Holder, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.


Leave a Comment